...home of the St. Johns Medical College Community

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home What's New Latest news Dr. Anthony Pais delivers Alfred Mascarhenhas Memorial Oration

Dr. Anthony Pais delivers Alfred Mascarhenhas Memorial Oration

E-mail Print PDF
Dr Anthony V Pais, professor and head of the department of Surgery (Academic Affairs) and senior consultant surgical oncology, Mazumdar Shaw Cancer Center, Narayana Hrudayalaya Hospital, Bangalore was honored by the department of Surgery, St John’s Medical College, Bangalore with the prestigious Professor Alfred Mascarenhas Oration on June 19. 

On the occasion, Dr Pais spoke on ‘A Century of Technical Evolution in Breast Cancer Surgery’. 

Prof Alfred Mascarenhas served this institution in many capacities continuously and with dedication for 29 years. He was the head of the department of Surgery, Medical Superintendent of St John’s Medical College Hospital and the principal of St John’s Medical College when he retired in 1995. Thereafter he continued to be the Emeritus professor of Surgery. 

He taught and trained many medical students from 1966 till he retired. He was instrumental in starting the postgraduate masters degree (MS) course in General Surgery in this institution in 1982 and many young surgeons who trained under him now occupy senior positions in several prestigious institutions in India and abroad. 

When he passed away, we lost a good friend and a great teacher, mentor and administrator. The Department of Surgery established this oration in his memory in 2002 and since then it has been conducted as a part of our annual Continuing Surgical Education Programme (CSEP) in May–June. 

The department of Surgery selects one eminent surgeon from the country or abroad every year. He /she should have contributed immensely to the field of surgery academically and the community. We have had the honor of having many eminent surgeons deliver this oration including past presidents of the Association of Surgeons of India. 

List of orators is as follows: Dr ArunB Kilpadi (2002), Dr Lucito D’Souza (2003), Dr Ashely D Cruz (2004), Dr Philip Thomas (2005), Dr H Ramesh (2006), Dr C Palanivelu (2007), Dr Ananthakrishnan(2008), Dr Srimurthy (2009), Dr Krishna Rau MS (2010), Dr Mohan Rao (2011), Dr Ananthram (2012), Dr Matthias W Hoffmann (2013), Dr S Vittal (2014) and Dr Anthony Pais (2015).

blog comments powered by Disqus